Skip to content

Q: Where do you work?

November 24, 2010
tags:
by

A few years ago I was working as a publishing designer at one of the biggest companies in the world. But, thanks to the economy, I’ve since found myself working from home, or from any given coffee shop around my hometown of Santa Clarita.

Some might see this as a bad thing, but I, actually, quite enjoy it. The work has been steady (thankfully), I don’t have to deal with the commute, I’ve been able to work on personal projects, and the schedule is (generally) completely up to me.

So, here’s the question: If you are lucky enough to be a freelance artist in the suburbs, what kind of work do you do, and where do you do it?

3 Comments leave one →
  1. November 24, 2010 11:07 am

    I (first) am a youth pastor… BUT I also am a part time musician and photographer. I tend to find myself editing and working from coffee houses as well. There’s really no better atmosphere.

  2. November 24, 2010 11:29 am

    Although I have a full-time job, I prefer to consider myself a freelance publicist and writer because I love doing what I do! I am currently living in La Jolla and have worked with local artists, stylists, photographers and designers from Los Angeles and San Diego in helping them connect with local outlets, clients and other organizations in their industry. The thing I love about freelancing is I am able to develop and implement publicity plans from start to finish and feel really great knowing that I can help others get the word out!

  3. November 25, 2010 11:16 am

    I’m a stay-at-home step-dad, so I get to spend my days with 2 little rugrats watching the cartoons of my youth and eating goldfish crackers. But, this also affords me the time and space to work on freelance illustrations, t-shirt designs, and my graphic novel. All from the comfort of my computer desk.

Leave a Reply

