Skip to content

Simone Shin

November 14, 2010

Simone Shin is a Los Angeles-based artist that finds inspiration in human existence and music. Shin takes her various experiences with the city and suburbia and turns them into art. The vibrant colors of her silkscreen work instantly draw you in and make you want to put on an old record.

Where are you from? How has suburbia influenced you?

I’m from a little place called Castro Valley up in the Northern California Bay Area. I guess you can say I grew up in a very typical American suburban community surrounded by trees, sidewalks, picket fences, horses, bikes, tons of families, pets, and a clear sky full of stars—little American homes left and right. Now that I think of it, it influences my artwork in so many ways.  I often take memories or feelings of memories in my past and intertwine them with what I am influenced by now, aesthetically.

How has music influenced you as an artist?

Music was always a part of my life growing up as a child, having taken so many musical lessons and participating in different musical groups for so many years. It naturally got translated into my artwork later on. I’ve had interests in expressing music in correlation with the human body, as well as music and historical artifacts. It is an expression that is very second nature to me now.

What else inspires you?

History and family, retro items from childhood, and nature in general. I majored in anthropology in college and am continuously interested in the collecting and categorizing of human artifacts, behavior, and cultural influence on artwork and everyday items.

How do you feel your surroundings can enhance or stifle your creativity?

Right now, in contrast to my suburban upbringing, I actually live smack dab in the middle of a busy urban center in Los Angeles in a downtown high rise. It is so different from my childhood, I can’t help but be influenced by the city’s fashion, the small galleries left and right of me, and the general contemporary living in this concrete forest. I try to take in the extremely contemporary feel of my surroundings and mix them with the almost unchanging, stagnant feelings of my past environment to see what I can come up with. I am now enjoying expressing extremities, and can’t wait to do more.

For more information on the artist, visit SimoneShin.com.

One Comment leave one →
  1. November 14, 2010 6:23 pm

    I absolutely love the piece with the typewriter with arms! To me there it represents communication and having a voice in the written word…. great symbolism and work!

Leave a Reply

