Skip to content

Jana Jelovac

October 20, 2010

Jana Jelovac is a digital artist from the suburb of Belgrade, Serbia. With a high personal standard of art, Jelovac combines street art with other personal inspirations to create powerful works of art that reflect the political and creative states of her city and her country. Her experience with suburbia is nothing like what we have experienced. Many think of safety and conformity when they think of the suburbs; Jelovac knows of instability and chaos. Her series, “SAMO© Was Here” is featured here:

What is the inspiration behind this series?

In this particular series called “SAMO© Was Here” my main inspiration was one of my favorite twentieth-century artists—Jean-Michel Basquiat—and his attempts to understand and accept the fact that our planet is a very hostile place to live. People are not always good to you, tricky things happens all the time; but he was too young and sadly too naive, which proved to be a very lethal combination in his case unfortunately.

What is the idea behind “We’re no longer collecting art, we’re buying people”?

The sentence used in this series, “We are no longer collecting art we are buying people,” is possibly the most picturesque view of our current creative global art scene, where everything is described by how much it costs and not by how much it represents. Artists and their pieces are scattered all over the place in this terrible wave of destructive inhuman capitalism.

How do you create your art?

It’s a mostly spontaneous process going on while I’m watching TV, listening to music, or doing things in my everyday life. In those moments all I have is a little blurry idea which upgrades constantly as the project develops. When it reaches its highest point, I show it to the world.

How have the suburbs influenced your art?

Well, my suburbia is truly one of a kind. It’s defined as dangerous, which is unfortunately very close to the truth. Also, it’s marked by many bad things, so when you mix it all together, my art is a perfect mirror of all those struggles in past and present days. Aftermath is something that will catch us all at the end.

What else influences your art? I’ve noticed a blending of graffiti in your work; would you say that street art influences you at all?

Yeah, I’m sure that street art and the part of Belgrade called “blocks” where I grew up have been a great influence on the type of themes and stories that I choose to deal with. And also, I’m a big fan of stencil technique and wall art, which are more and more popular here these days.

Where are you from?

Very sadly, but I’m from Belgrade, Serbia. I pretty am sure you’re familiar with this country; we are always popular, but rarely in positive manner. I must say it that way due the fact that although my city has the population of about three million souls, I feel like I’m living in one big illiterate village at the end of the world. In my home town, the only things that bloom are vulgarity and rudeness in its purest form, and I cannot call it any differently than a heavy [form of] suburbia. Maybe my attitude in this matter seems a little-bit harsh and condemning, but believe me, Balkan is not a good place to raise your children…or a dog.

For more information on the artist, visit her website or blog.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Loco permalink
    October 21, 2010 2:27 am

    Great interview… and greater works.
    Very interesting perspective of view by all meanings.
    Keep it on!

    Cheers,
    L.

Leave a Reply

