Skip to content

Jon MacNair

August 9, 2010

Last Friday afternoon I stumbled upon the highly detailed illustration work of Jon MacNair. By layering folklore-esque characters in and around other characters, while also layering them in and around highly-detailed landscape, Jon does the work and lets you run with a story.

After contacting him about featuring his work, we found out that he’s from – gasp!! – a suburb! So we asked him a few quick questions (click through to see more artwork, and read the interview):

Where are you living now, Jon?
I currently live in Rochester Hills, Michigan (Madonna’s hometown, to die-hard fans. I went to her high school).

What’s your opinion, having moved from suburb, to city, and now back to the suburbs?
It was great to leave the suburbs after high school. I went to college in Baltimore at the Maryland Institute College of Art. Living in such an urban environment was a huge change for me. In my hometown I’d never had access to public transportation or really seen homeless people before, let alone huge rats scurrying around the streets. It was a whole new experience for me. I lived there for 8 years and recently moved back to the burbs in MI. Not much has changed here. I miss the activity of a larger city and the funny quirks that all cities have.

Has living in suburbia affected your art, or is it a non-issue?
I wouldn’t say it has affected my art noticeably. I do however wish there were more art events to attend around here that were in line with my taste. Most of the galleries I show in are on the West coast.


For more of Jon’s artwork, check out www.JonMacnair.com.

 

3 Comments leave one →
  1. August 9, 2010 11:55 pm

    Really loving this work! I’d be interested in seeing his version of some old folk tales, maybe a childrens book?

  2. August 13, 2010 10:20 pm

    Yes! A children’s book would be totally rad. Though, judging by the content in the images, it may have to be a “children’s” style book for adults. I’d buy it, either way.

  3. August 14, 2010 12:54 am

    It’s certainly the kind of books I read as a child. Absolutely amazing illustrations!

Leave a Reply

