Skip to content

The Shortest Distance Between Humans and Nature…

May 18, 2010

I’ll make this brief (ish).

With school ending this past week, I’ve had a lot more time to meditate on life, specifically the balance (or struggle) between mankind and nature (ok, so Emerson and Thoreau were on one of my finals).

Instead of getting too far into my own personal beliefs addressing the differences of the origin of man and nature, I thought I’d rather touch on just one expression of that difference: a straight line.

Think about it: where in nature do you see a continual and perfectly straight line? (I thought of a couple, but they weren’t perfect examples).

If one wanted to test whether or not something was made by man, one of the easiest ways to do so would be to count how many straight lines they could count. From buildings to sheets of paper, bathroom tiles to television sets, the man-made world is marked by this distinguishing trademark.

Carlo Carra The Red Horseman

To me, this is why I’m such a big fan of the Cubism. It’s a representation of the world/expression of emotion that is seemingly entirely human (sorry, nature). It tells man’s story, as seen through the squared lens of the human perspective.

Paul Klee Red and White Domes

Just as a city landscape juxtaposes the mountains and trees around it, so does a cubist piece stand out amongst the archives of art through the ages.

Some of my favorite Cubists include: Georges Braque, Carlo Carra, Pablo Picasso (duh), and the wonderful Paul Klee.

Am I speaking heresy by preferring humans over nature? Let me know.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Tamarin permalink
    May 18, 2010 7:29 pm

    I just realized that we are the yin-yang of art. I prefer the organic lines of art nouveau and you are a straight lined cubist!

Leave a Reply

