Skip to content

Good Weather = My Muse

March 1, 2010

I’m not sure how your week went, but regardless of the trials and/or triumphs you experienced, there’s one thing you can’t deny: the amazing weather. To me, it’s been perfect: high 60s to low 70s with zero rain and just the right amount of sunshine, along with a refreshing breeze every now and then. I’ve found myself enjoying life all over again, strolling around my campus with my head held high, walking on the grass barefoot, and taking naps with the warm sun on my face, the cool breeze on my side.

My napping spot, just outside CSUN's Oviatt Library

The fact that I was outside because I wanted to and not because I had to was liberating; I felt like I was 9 years old again without a care in the world. My mind was free to relax, and it was then that inspiration started to come. Ideas, seemingly pouring from the sky, fell into my brain and began overflowing; I couldn’t contain myself. I finished a book, wrote, drew. Still I knew I had more in me. I couldn’t get enough of creating and coming up with more ideas and thoughts. TV and movies suddenly became much less interesting than the stories I was telling. Instead of looking for stories, I was making them myself.

In a weird and indirect way, it was the weather that got me to that point. It took my mind off the trivial things in life, and redirected my focus. It woke up the creator in me, and gave him inspiration. I know the weather can’t and won’t always be like this, but instead of dreading the looming heat that is bound to plague us all in Southern California, I create while I can, and hope and pray for another week like this one.

Does the weather affect your creativity? Are you more creative in the rain? The heat? We want to know: What inspires your creativity?

3 Comments leave one →
  1. March 1, 2010 2:54 pm

    Anytime there is any real weather in the scv(like anything besides sun and 90 degrees) always enhances the mood and increases the desire to do something creative

  2. March 2, 2010 8:18 am

    I used to think myself to be real creative only if it was raining – and raining hard for that matter. But lately, I’ve come to find myself more motivated to create when the weather is warmer. 80 degrees and sunny seems to be just perfect for me.

  3. March 5, 2010 2:52 am

    I have to admit. I think rain makes me a bit more of a brooding artist.

Leave a Reply

