Skip to content

“The UK Music Scene” by Melissa Karlin

January 30, 2010

I am a huge music buff. A huge classic rock music buff to be exact. Name any classic rock band and I’ll probably be able to name you five songs and then compare them to another group and then tell you how wrong Rolling Stone magazine is about them. This year I started going to University in the United Kingdom. I was incredibly excited to go to the land where music comes from! Just think of all the amazing names that have come from Britain. The Beatles, The Who, The Kinks, Led Zeppelin, Pink Floyd, The Clash! And even more recently great groups like Radiohead, Muse, Franz Ferdinand, Oasis, The Fratellis, Coldplay… the list could just keep going. So when I arrived there, I was expecting to enter a sea of magical rock music. Unfortunately, I did not enter a sea of magical rock music, I entered a river of drum and bass.

Anyone who knows me knows I’m obsessed with Noel Gallagher. I saw Oasis in concert in December 2008 and it was, to me, like the closest I would ever get to seeing the Beatles. It felt like that. It was amazing. But then, right before I went to England in September, something horrible happened. Noel and Liam had a fight and this time, it was Noel who said he had enough. Oasis had broken up! Again. But this time it seemed more serious. I should have taken this as some kind of sign. When I arrived I suddenly felt like I had come to Britain 15 years too late. I went expecting BritPop and was welcomed with the entire country talking about the X-Factor (for those of you who don’t know what the X-Factor is, don’t worry, Simon Cowell is bringing that to America next year). Most of the popular music that played around me was some kind of dance music. And even more frightening, was the fact that rock music is slowly becoming part of the craze. Take Muse for example. Their first album is almost grunge, angry, growling guitars that sounded straight out of a Radiohead album, but that was 10 years ago. If you listen to their newest album, half of it is basically dance pop music. It’s incredibly depressing for someone who likes to hear the sound of a guitar wailing in a solo. However, this new movement of rock music is not always a bad thing. Sometimes it can sound interesting and new. Sort of like Franz Ferdinand’s latest album that came out last year. It is still rock, but you can dance to it. And it’s not really a compromise, it’s a reinvention.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. JANKINS permalink
    January 31, 2010 6:32 pm

    IS YOUR SOUL SORE?

  2. Thomas permalink
    January 31, 2010 9:40 pm

    Wow you know soooo much about music! Oasis sucks, and I can’t help but feel that anyone who likes them sucks too.

  3. Ashley permalink
    February 1, 2010 10:51 am

    Thomas, don’t be a butthead.

  4. Zach permalink*
    February 1, 2010 4:47 pm

    Thomas, not exactly the most insightful comment…. why does Oasis “suck”?

  5. JANKINS permalink
    February 2, 2010 6:12 pm

    NO, OASIS IS SYMPTOM, AND THEIR SUCK NEITHER HERE NOR THERE, THE REAL PROBLEM IS THE SORE SOUL, FAVORING THE LEFT FOOT INSTEAD, STAYING OFF IT

Leave a Reply

