Skip to content

Film Review: The Little Shop of Horrors (1960 Version)

November 6, 2009
by

The Little Shop of Horrors? Absolutely! Directed by Roger Corman and starring Jonathan Haze, this old gem is far superior to the many remakes, including the musical adaptation. Not only does it include a cheesy-looking plant that drinks human blood, but the writing is surprisingly good. I think the story is extremely fresh and unique, and one that clearly works for all generations (hence the remakes).

Just to account for the brilliance of this film, one particular scene has always caught my eye. The setting is a dentist’s office, and the comedic hook is an appearance by Jack Nicholson (his film debut). I don’t want to give away too much, but Jack presents a rather creepy stance on dentistry. I will just leave it at that. Go watch the film.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Kyle Sellers permalink
    November 9, 2009 5:32 pm

    Fun fact, Tim, but much of this film was actually filmed in Santa Clarita. There were several sets built off of the Old Road which I remember checking out when my dad was towing in some set pieces for them.

    I was only a 4 year old kid at the time, but I remember being blown away by the giant plants and other bizarre props.

  2. Kyle Sellers permalink
    November 9, 2009 5:33 pm

    I’m an idiot… I didn’t notice you were talking about the original 1960 version. That was WAY before my time, and who knows where that one was filmed!

Leave a Reply

