Skip to content

Robert Regalado (7/20)

July 20, 2009
by

#12
17loRiseofMan

PA:  How long have you been an artist?
RR: I have been a professional full time artist for about 2 years now but I had another working life before that.
PA: What are your biggest fears as an artist? And how do you overcome them?
RR: I fear having to explain the subject matter of what I do.  Abstracts often stretch to the limit peoples’ ability to comprehend the work.  I deal with it by working hard at trusting the methods that I use to convey my message through texture and color.
PA:  What type of art do you create?
RR: I would describe what I do as textured abstract. I use “other materials” to mix with paint to allow for more contrast.
PA: Do you have any creative rituals within your process?
RR: Yes, every time I am in the process of arranging my colors, I can see what I need to do next and where I need to do it to satisfy an urge.
PA: What is your greatest creative motivation/drive?
RR:I am motivated by the absolute and unlimited need to express an unspoken language with my hands.  This voice has always put me on a path less travelled in life.  Where it actually comes from is unknown.
___________________________________________

Robert’s passion for color and expression is very evident in his work, it is evident with the mark making, thick texture, and color combination that seem to resemble a mixture of abstract expressionism, African art, and Folk art. With this assumed combination of influences, Robert creates a unique line of abstract art that shows a profound skill in texture and expression.

To see more of Robert’s work, you can visit him directly at the ArtPark in downtown L.A. the second Thursday of every month. For more information go to: www.citizenla.com
Until next time,
Zach
One Comment leave one →
  1. severnyproductions permalink
    July 21, 2009 12:02 am

    a great artist, i like his work

Leave a Reply

