Skip to content

Nicole Froemming (6/22)

June 23, 2009
by

Our first artist of the week is Nicole Froemming

paint3untitled

PA: How Long have you been an artist?

NF: I guess I have been an artist… since I was old enough to hold a pencil or mold some play-dough.
I have always been trying to create fun new things.

PA: What are your biggest fears as an artist and how do you overcome them?

NF : I don’t really have any fears.. . as an artist.. I love making & painting new things.. & I love when other people love or like the things I come up with..
It would be nice.. to one day be successful enough to live off of only being creative.. but even if I am stuck working a real job & making art on the side..
I’ll be happy knowing I have that escape from the real world.

PA: What kind or type of art do you create?

NF: Lately I have been focusing more on my plush creations.. . I like making something original.. that you can do more than just look at..
but I like painting portraits.. mostly.. . it’s fun for me to try & capture emotion in my paintings.
I also enjoy playing around with mixed media & making odd short films.. .

PA: Do you have any creative rituals that are involved in your process?

NF: music & booze.. always helps me with my creative process.. .

PA: What is you greatest creative motivation/drive?

NF: My imagination and my free time (laughs)

____________________________________________________

Nicole’s thick mark making and gesture work leads the viewer to an altered, distorted but recognizable reality found within her paintings. Her abstracted and layered backgrounds combined with her color palette creates a dark but playful mood. Finally Nicole is able to capture a sense of movement and natural emotion with her portrait work, she also seems to have the ability to add character to inanimate objects she paints as well.

Nicole will be showing her work Thursday June 25th at the monthly Verdugo Bar Art Show. Below you will find a link to this event.

http://www.myspace.com/verdugobarartshow

– Zach
__________________________
RSS Subscribe.
Send us your art.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. June 23, 2009 5:43 am

    great post! love these pieces… is there anyway i can see more?

  2. June 23, 2009 2:06 pm

    wow. this is rad stuff. loving the color choices, and the texture. i’m with justin, is there a place we can see more?

Leave a Reply

