Skip to content

Dancer in the Dark (6/20)

June 20, 2009
tags:
by

Bjork in a movie?

Yes. Yes it’s true.

“Dancer in the Dark” is an interesting film. Lars Von Trier, the director and one of the visionaries of Dogma 95 created this film with the intention to create a musical based around a woman with real unlucky circumstances.

He completed that goal.

If you have not seen this film, I highly recommend it. If you have, what did you think?

Lets talk!

__________________________
RSS Subscribe.
Send us your art.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. June 20, 2009 8:45 pm

    Brooks much? I’ve only seen the clips they showed us at school when we analyzed this film to death, not the whole film. I hope to see it fully though. Weird how they used so many tiny digital cameras to get the many angles aboard the train. Although it makes for some cool edits, the resolution definitely shows which I feel distracts me too much from the scene. But maybe that’s me coming from a film background.

    I love Björk though.

  2. timothyseaton permalink
    June 23, 2009 12:43 am

    I see what you mean and I agree. I think the thing for me about the film is not so much the technical and cinematic things as much as simple storytelling. Most first viewings I try to detach myself from analyzing how it was made to death and only watch it for story. I can see how watching parts and having to analyze it would change your mind though. When I was still at Brooks we watched the whole thing and briefly discussed certain things.

    Good thoughts!

    I think when, where and who you are with can effect your opinion of the film. For most comedies, I try not to watch them alone. I made that mistake with Anchorman and really don’t like the film that much.

    What are people’s thoughts on the environment in which you view art. How much can it effect your opinion?

    Lets discuss!!!

Leave a Reply

